Posted in crafting, DIY, Seasonal

6 Easy D.I.Y Holiday Decor Ideas!

It is officially December which means it is time to start trimming our trees and spreading holiday cheer all around our homes.Whether you decorate before the Thanksgiving bird has even been served or later in December, I have a few ideas of how you can spice up your decorating this year!

1. Fill a vase with ornaments.

This idea is simple but makes a big impact. Pick your favorite vase and just fill it with beautiful ornaments to display in your home! Most of us have more ornaments than we have room for on the tree. This is a perfect way to display those ornaments you really love but can’t fit on the tree this year!

20161204_110349

2. Trim the tree with bold ribbon.

This might seem obvious, but instead of using the traditional garland like you do every year, head over to your local Micheals. They often have ribbon on sale. Grab yourself a few spools of big, bold ribbon that matches the theme you are going for with your tree this year. I chose a gold color since that is the general look we were giving the tree. The great thing about using ribbon is you can reuse it year after year. Pick a brown burlap type of ribbon for a great rustic look, or a glittery ribbon for more of a glam feel!

20161126_140252

3. Make easy but bold art pieces.

I love this idea. All you need is shadow boxes, mini ornaments, scrapbook paper of your choice and cheap but beautiful decals from Darling Decal Co. You can grab shadow boxes for a great price again, at Micheals, and be sure to always use a coupon when you shop there. While you’re there grab yourself some miniature ornaments (you can also get these at Amazon) and some glittery scrapbook paper! Cut the scrapbook paper to size to fit into the back of your shadow boxes and just tape or glue it in place. Fill your shadow boxes with mini ornaments in the color of your choice. Lastly, add the beautiful decals from Darling Decal Co. Feel free to ask for the exact decals that I ordered. They are super easy to apply and totally affordable!

20161130_170107

20161130_170542

20161130_171414

20161130_193030

20161130_193225

4. Use battery operated string lights to make a bold statement!

I love these battery operated string lights! I’m using them all over the house this year. A great way to use them is to take a pretty glass bowl, fill it with ornaments, pine cones, or whatever you want, and string the lights throughout to make the whole bowl shine!

20161204_110556

5. Make faux gifts!

This is another super easy idea that makes a big impact. Save all those shipping boxes that you’ll be getting from Amazon or wherever you shop online during the holidays, and wrap them in pretty wrapping paper! Pile them up in a corner or use them to hide the less than perfect aspects of your home, like an old outlet cover or wires!

picmonkey-imagebpicmonkey-imagec

6. Wrap your artwork.

Have any photos or artwork hanging on your wall that isn’t quite in tune with the holiday spirit? An easy solution is to wrap them and make them look like gifts hanging on your walls! I used the artwork I made here. It was too autumnal and didn’t quite match the rest of my holiday decor, so I took some beautiful glittery wrapping paper that I got on sale at Target , and wrapped the canvases. Then I added the same gold ribbon I used on my tree to really tie it all together.

picmonkey-image

I hope you enjoyed my Holiday decor ideas, and use them in your home this year! What D.I.Y decor do you use in your home this time of year?

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-281-491C35E1FE9A01CD87A75141DCC1BAC4

 

Author:

I'm 23, vegan, and living in the Philadelphia suburbs, writing about my battles with weight, depression, and fun stuff like being vegan, crafting and hiking!

24 thoughts on “6 Easy D.I.Y Holiday Decor Ideas!

  1. I love that ribbon around the tree idea, I’ve done that in the previous years, it does lessen the time and the materials you need for decorating the tree. The decals are an awesome idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

